Prep work

October 1, 2008

Many apologies for the lack of exciting green wedding info.  Getting settled into my new job and a new routine hasn’t left a ton of free time, even though it hasn’t been that difficult.  I’m still lacking a little bit of furniture (like, say, a few more chairs so I can have people over for dinner), but I’ve got my eye on freecycle and craigslist (I did succumb to Ikea for a bed, but the rest I figured I could get used), so that should also be taken care of shortly.

And, in the meantime, there has been very little wedding planning.  Without Jason, and with the distractions of a new town, maybe I haven’t been as on top of it as I should be.  We still have 11 months, right?  🙂

But I have been trying to do a few things to get ready.  And I mean me, personally.  Eating healthier, trying to exercise regularly (no regular ultimate frisbee practice yet, boo), and trying to keep up a beauty regimen that will have me glowing (and with really long hair that I can do anything with!) by the time next Labor Day rolls around.  So I thought I’d share some things I’ve picked up as I’m prepping.

  1. While I haven’t completely reverted, I am eating vegetarian at home.  I was a true ovo-lacto vegetarian for 9 years, and for the past 4 I’ve been going back and forth, with sushi and bacon as my major weaknesses.  When I was 12, I wrote essays on why I was a vegetarian (“everything except religion”)…Anyway, not only does it make me more conscious about eating healthy (well, healthier), there is evidence to suggest that removing some amount of meat from your diet reduces your carbon footprint.
  2. I’m drinking lots of water.  At the moment, I’m actually not finding any good documentation that links staying hydrated to skin health, but I’ve seen it floating around out there, and it seems like common sense.  And I’m drinking from a reusable water bottle and cutting down on the sodas and such, therefore keeping some garbage out of the waste stream (not to mention all the high-fructose corn syrup that I’m not ingesting).
  3. I’m using beauty products and routines that hopefully make less of an impact and that are better for me.  I’m not exactly a high-maintenance person, but that’s mostly because of my laziness.  
  • I only shower every other day, to conserve water and to sleep later on those other days.  🙂  I know that’s not for everyone, but perhaps at least consider not washing your hair every day.  It dries it out, according to my Aveda stylist, and think of the water you’ll save just by cutting out those 2-3+ minutes!
  • I don’t blow-dry my hair.  It totally destroys my fine tresses, but I also don’t use that electricity.  I’m blessed/cursed with super straight hair, but again, if you don’t wash it every day, you won’t have to blow dry it.  And you could also turn of the dryer when your hair is still a little damp.  You’ll probably even save a few pennies that could go towards something like, um, one more local rose in your bouquet…
  • I try to use organic/natural face wash, soap, shampoo, etc.  A lot of it I find at Trader Joe’s and/or Whole Foods (yeah, TJ’s is cheaper, surprise!).  Some of my own favorite brands include Desert Essence and Dr. Bronner’s castile soap (there are plenty of organic castile soaps out there, if you aren’t as amused as I am by the religious mission).  I also want to mention a great resource for learning about beauty products and some of the chemicals they contain (for guys, too!): http://www.cosmeticsdatabase.com.  It’s good to be informed, although perhaps a little scary…In general, it may be a good idea to stay away from parabens.  
Anyone want to share any other successful eco-beauty secrets?   
Leave a Reply

