The Shaw Family

June 19, 2008


Grampa’s on the right

Originally uploaded by my sister Lisa

I apologize for not having blogged the last few days. First I just had the lame excuse of being lazy/busy (yep, I can do both at the same time). But then last Thursday, I got a call from my mom saying that my Grampa had passed away unexpectedly. He had apparently fallen asleep in the chair that my mom and aunt had given him for his 80th birthday just about a week before and never woke up.

I’m really lucky to have known him, and to have had him in my life for so long. But I was kind of devastated when I realized that even though my wedding was going to be much closer to him, he wasn’t going to be able to be there. Which is kind of selfish, but that was my thought.

So, for my post today, my “green” advice is just to cherish those you love, and let them know how you feel (pick up the phone, or maybe send a grow-a-note card). Which is probably kind of obvious to people reading a wedding blog, but I could always use a reminder.

Leave a Reply

